JACKPOT eats: Pandan Glutinous Rice Balls in Sweetened Ginger Soup

Hello Readers!

I was feeling very sick yesterday with the flu, so I thought I would make ginger soup to soothe my sore throat. But who am I kidding, I really just wanted to have some ginger soup as an excuse to make glutinous rice balls and eat dessert of course at the same time ;P

I remember when I was really young, my sister and I used to watch my mum in awe making Onde Onde for us. Onde is basically small glutinous rice balls cooked in boiling water then added to a sweet ginger soup. I used to love watching mum roll the onde onde by hand and watch her add different colours to the glutinous rice dough. She would often make a pandan version and mix these with plain white or pink colouring so when the glutinous balls cooked they were very colourful contrasting the ginger soup. Sometimes she would even let me roll a few of the glutinous balls but I could never roll it as quick and as neat as hers.

There isn’t really a recipe I followed. I more just made up the mixture as I went. It’s basically glutinous rice flour (I use the Thai brand one) and water. The glutinous rice flour mix must be doughy when mixed with the water so that when you touch the dough it does not stick to your hands. If the dough is too sticky you will need to add more flour. After you have made your dough you can then add in your colouring. I only used pandan paste to make my glutinous rice balls green but feel free to use any kind of colouring to make different coloured balls. I have also tried pumpkin before and that tasted quite nice. You could even try taro or sweet potato. I’m yet to try these flavours but will like to try these in the future. The ginger soup is basically cut up ginger with sugar and water. I like my ginger soup very gingery so I added more ginger. But its whatever you prefer.  If you don’t really like too much ginger in your soup, you can cut back on the ginger and only put in a few cut up pieces or add more sugar if you like a sweeter soup.

So here are some photos from yesterdays attempt at cooking onde onde. I hope mum isn’t reading this because I’m sure she will say those aren’t the right size but that’s ok it still tasted good mum ;P

My pandan glutinous rice ball dough

Rolling the dough into tiny balls

Boiling the glutinous rice balls in boiling water. They will drop to the bottom.

Once cooked, they will float to the top of the water. You can then retrieve them with a spoon.

Drop the glutinous balls into the ginger soup and eat immediately =)

x

Jackie

“You know, food is such – it’s a hug for people.
Rachael  Ray

Leave a comment

Filed under Asian, Dessert, Indonesian, Recipes, Snacks

Leave a Reply

