JACKPOT’s Weekend Purchases

Hello all!

I thought I would share with you all what I purchased on the weekend. My routine on a normal saturday morning usually consists of going to the markets whether it be Eveleigh markets or the Pyrmont Growers Market. I love that you can buy so much fresh produce at the markets whether its vegetables, fruit, cheese, bread, sweets or whatever takes your fancy. However if i’m not at the markets on the weekend, you will always find me scrounging around the organic/health food grocery stores. I’m pretty sure I could spend a good one hour going through each aisle of the grocery store and inspecting each product reading up on the ingredients and nutritional content. I’m always keen to try new health products for baking and cooking. Most my family and friends will know that when I find something new to cook or bake with, my eyes light up instantly and most times their reaction is a confused puzzled look as to why I’m so happy I found say “raw organic honey” or “spelt flour”. I think they are used to it by now though ;P

So to my purchases:

I am currently loving this yoghurt at the moment. I think I go through so many yoghurt phases but this is one I really like at the moment. Country Valley Yoghurt don’t really have many stockists in Sydney. I bought these from Eveleigh Markets but recently found they sell them at Thomas Dux so I’ll definately be going there to purchase some if I can’t make it to the markets. Their naturally sweetened plain yoghurt is my favourite as its not too sweet and you can have it for breakfast. I usually eat it with either chopped fruit such as strawberries or blueberries or with homemade stewed rhubarb. You could also have it with muesli or on its own. I bought the traditional handmade natural yoghurt for baking. I’ve made a vanilla yoghurt cake before with spelt flour which tasted pretty nice and so will be looking to make another yoghurt recipe soon.

I also bought this Almond Bread made by GUMNUT Chocolates and Biscuits from Eveleigh Markets. I liked this so much I decided to make my own version at home using white spelt flour and whole blanched almonds. My version turned out a lot darker than the one I bought from the markets and I think its due to the flour and also my oven temperature. I’m guilty of having this as a snack from time to time when I’m feeling like I deserve a snack but everything in moderation right?

I was very excited to see that Thomas Dux now sell Loving Earth products. I have used their Agave Nectar before but am now keen to try their organic coconut sugar and raw organic coconut butter which I have heard is much better than using normal butter. Will update you all on how the baking experiments turn out using these products.

I have been looking at this pure vanilla extract for awhile. It’s sold in quite a few organic grocery stores and I finally purchased it on the weekend to use in my baking. It’s a lot more dearer than most pure vanilla extract but I’m excited to try it out. Don’t be surprised if you see a lot more vanilla baked cakes and cupcakes in my upcoming posts ;P

x

Jackie

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Cake, Markets

One response to “JACKPOT’s Weekend Purchases

  1. Ketchup Maniiiiis Boy

    Where can I find some premium Ketchup Maniiiiis from?

Leave a Reply

