Jackpot makes: Homemade Raspberry Frozen Yoghurt

Hello dear readers!

TGIF! Sorry for the delayed post but this week has felt like a constant pattern of exhaustion and to top things off I haven’t had a chance to bake anything as yet…perhaps I’ve got some baking block? But I hope to relax this weekend and start baking again. Thanks to my wonderful friends, I am the proud new owner of a red Kitchenaid so I cannot wait to try out new recipes with it.

So last night I looked inside my fridge and found I still had a tub of Country Valley Natural Yoghurt sitting there that had not been open and because of all the birthday festivities of late, I had completely forgotten about it. I was going to bake a french vanilla yoghurt cake or a steamed yoghurt cake but instead decided to do something completely different and make frozen yoghurt. I love froyo as mentioned in my previous post and while this homemade froyo does not compare at all to the likes of Moochi or Noggi, I was still quite happy with the results.

Once again I didn’t really follow a recipe and decided to wing it instead. I took out my trusty Vitamix which is a really great kitchen appliance. You can make ice creams, smoothies, soups etc with this appliance. I have even made raw brownie bites quite successfully in this Vitamix.

The ingredients I used were:

  • 1 tub of natural yoghurt – you can use greek yoghurt as well, or a flavoured yoghurt with vanilla or yoghurt for added flavour but I used a natural yoghurt so that I could add my own flavours and control the sugar content in the froyo
  • 1 cup of frozen raspberries – you can feel free to use any type of fruit. I chose raspberries as that was that I had in my freezer but feel free to try this with blueberries, mixed berries, strawberries, peach, mango
  • 1 tsp of pure vanilla paste (optional)
  • 1/4 cup of agave nectar – you can add more as I don’t like my froyo too sweet but since the raspberries are quite tart you may need to increase the amount. You could also substitute the agave for sugar or other types of sweetener. You can even try using Stevia but do not put too much as you do not want the taste of Stevia to overpower the taste of your frozen yoghurt.

I put all these ingredients into my mixer and blended for a minute on low-speed then put it to the highest speed for another minute or so.

Once the mixture was done, I poured it into a container and put it straight into my freezer to set further.

I was really happy with the taste of my froyo. I think I went a bit overboard with the raspberries though as my froyo mixture turned out to be quite a dark pink. If you want your froyo to be a bit lighter in colour and have less of a raspberry taste, you can reduce the amount of raspberries to 1/2 a cup. Also, my froyo was a bit on the icy side as my freezer is quite cold and because I didn’t make this froyo in an ice-cream maker to churn it, I think the texture was different to typical frozen yoghurt. Regardless, I like that I know what is in the frozen yoghurt and that the sweetness only comes from the agave nectar.

I am keen to try a mango or strawberry frozen yoghurt next =)

Pictures:

“Learn how to cook–try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!”

Julia Child, My Life in France

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert, Frozen Yoghurt, Fruit, Health Food, Healthy, Recipes, Snacks, Western

Leave a Reply

