JACKPOT bakes: Vegan Banana, Mango & Macadamia Muffins

Hi all!

Mangoes are in season at the moment as the weather is getting warmer and there is nothing better than eating mangoes on a hot and sunny day to quench your thirst and to satisfy your hunger when it’s too hot to eat anything else. When I was a kid, I loved to eat mangoes with my sister. We used to cut one mango and slice it up in two halves so that we both got half a piece of mango each. We would slice the mango horizontally then vertically to create a checkered effect on the mango and then turn them inside out so that we could easily eat the mango with the cut pieces formed. One mango though, was never enough for the both of us and as our parents used to always buy boxes of mangoes for our home, we would often go back for seconds or thirds when we were feeling slightly peckish. As a kid, I also loved mango sorbet and it would often be my choice of flavour when going to ice cream parlours and dessert places. I never really fancied creamy ice creams compared to my sister when I was young so mango sorbet was always my go to dessert when I wanted something light and refreshing. My dad would often get large scoops of ice-cream for himself and I often think that I inherited his sweet tooth from him over the years as I got older.

I wanted to bake a mango and macadamia muffin that was vegan and low in sugar and oil without any refined sugars or butter. I remember when I was going through my diet days and I was exercising a lot at the time,  I would always go to the local cafe in my area and buy a sugar-free muffin for my breakfast. It was always loaded with plenty of fruit and nuts to keep me full until lunch time. They made several combinations of flavours baked fresh in the early morning so I was always excited to see what flavour they would have each day. My most favourite however was a mango and macadamia muffin and from this, I knew that I wanted to replicate this muffin and the textures and flavours it exhibited.

I experimented by making two versions of vegan muffins. The first version I used a combination of flours: Natural Almond Meal, White Spelt Flour and Whole Wheat Spelt Flour and the second version I made with only White and Whole Wheat Spelt Flour.

I adapted my recipe from Joy the Baker (http://joythebaker.com/2011/07/vegan-mango-banana-bread/). I often read her blogs and she has some fantastic vegan dessert recipes to try out so when I saw this recipe of hers I knew that I wanted to try it out given I had mangoes on hand.

First Version: Vegan Spelt, Almond Meal, Banana, Mango & Macadamia Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup almond meal
  • 1/2 Cup white spelt flour
  • 1/2 whole wheat spelt flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tbsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ginger
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 medium bananas
  • 1/4 cup of soy milk
  • 1/4 cup of sweetener of your choice – agave nectar, pure maple syrup, honey (if you aren’t baking vegan)
  • 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 ripe mango diced
  • 1/2 cup of chopped raw macadamia nuts

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a cupcake/muffin tray with muffin cups or if you don’t want to use this then lightly spray your cupcake/muffin tray with some oil spray then set aside
  3. Mash the bananas with a fork in a large mixing bowl then add in the milk, sweetener, vanilla extract and whisk to incorporate
  4. Sift in the flours, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, salt. Using a wooden spoon, mix wet with dry until combined.
  5. Add in the diced mango and chopped macadamia nuts and mix until just combined.
  6. Use an ice cream scoop or a large spoon and drop in spoonfuls of your batter into the muffin cups or cupcake/muffin tray. Fill to about 3/4 full.
  7. Bake in the oven for approximately 25 minutes.
  8. Take the muffins out of the tray and let it cool on a cooling rack.
  9. Best eaten warm but can be frozen to eat later for breakfast.

JACKPOT’s Note: If making this recipe into a loaf, you will need to bake it in a loaf tin in the oven for approximately 50 minutes.

I liked the appearance of these muffins as they came out of the oven as you could see all the different textures from the nuts and fruit and the different flour combination. However when I ate this muffin I found it to be too moist perhaps from too much fruit added into the mixture and too much soymilk. Next time I will reduce the mango to 1/2 a cup of diced mango and I will use maybe only a few tbsps of the soy milk next time. Also, I could not taste the ginger in this recipe and since I like my desserts quite gingery, I will increase the amount of ginger. Whilst the flavours were there I think that next time I might just only use almond meal and see how that works instead.

Photos:

Second Version: Vegan Spelt Banana, Mango & Macadamia Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of white spelt flour
  • 1 Cup of whole wheat spelt flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1-1.5 tbs of cinnamon
  • 2 tsp of ginger
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 medium bananas
  • < than 1/4 cup of melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup of coconut sugar
  • 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of ripe mango diced
  • 1/2 cup of chopped raw macadamia nuts

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a cupcake/muffin tray with muffin cups or if you don’t want to use this then lightly spray your cupcake/muffin tray with some oil spray then set aside
  3. Mash the bananas with a fork in a large mixing bowl then add in the melted coconut oil, coconut sugar, vanilla extract and whisk to incorporate
  4. Sift in the flours, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, salt. Using a wooden spoon, mix wet with dry until combined.
  5. Add in the diced mango and chopped macadamia nuts and mix until just combined.
  6. Use an ice cream scoop or a large spoon and drop in spoonfuls of your batter into the muffin cups or cupcake/muffin tray. Fill to about 3/4 full.
  7. Bake in the oven for approximately 25 minutes.
  8. Take the muffins out of the tray and let it cool on a cooling rack.
  9. Best eaten warm but can be frozen to eat later for breakfast.

I really liked the second version I made over the first version. Whilst the muffin was a lot more dense from the whole wheat flour, I prefered the taste of it moreso. You still get the different layers of texture with the fruits and nuts and I could taste the ginger more in this version. I also liked the coconut sugar in this and using a small amount of coconut oil as well in this batch emphasised more of the coconut flavours which pair very well with mangoes. I found the batter very different to the first version however as it was quite dry and I wasn’t sure whether I needed to add some milk for more moisture but the muffins still remained quite moist from the bananas and mangoes once baked. I will definitely be making these again.

Photos:

Currently munching on one of the muffins now…I can’t resist ;p

“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you who you are.”

Brillat-Savarin

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Banana, Breakfast, Dessert, Fruit, Health Food, Healthy, Muffins, Muffins, Nuts, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian, Western

Leave a Reply

