JACKPOT’s: Weekend Baking Adventures

Hello Readers!

What a weekend it has been! I definitely have some monday-itis today after a jam-packed weekend consisting of a wedding celebration, winning a basketball game and then coming down with the flu yesterday…my immune system is not the best since I’ve caught the flu quite a few times over the past few months.

But on a brighter note, I thought I would share with you all some of my baking adventures in the kitchen over the weekend. A bit of sickness was definitely not going to put a damper on my weekend and I was determined to create some new baked goods regardless.

I wanted to thank Ms Shortee and Mrs Do for their help on the weekend so this was the perfect opportunity to bake. I wanted to bake something new and of course something healthy so I decided to bake: Banana and Date Wholemeal Spelt Muffins and Flaked Almond Spelt Tuiles.

Banana and Date Wholemeal Spelt Muffins

I adapted my recipe from The Everyday Veggie (http://theeverydayveggie.com/?p=1075) as I wanted to make a sugar-free banana and date muffin.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of Wholemeal Spelt Flour
  • 1 Tsp of Baking Soda
  • 1/2 cup of Soy Milk
  • 1 Tsp of Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1-2 Tbs of Coconut Oil
  • 1-2 Tbs of Agave Nectar (Optional – I don’t think it needs it as the muffin gets its sweetness from the dates already)
  • 1 tsp of Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 3 Medium Sized Bananas
  • 1/2 Cup  Chopped Dates

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a cupcake/muffin tray with muffin cups or if you are not using liners then you need to spray your tray with oil spray so that the muffins do not stick to the tray
  3. Combine the soy milk with the apple cider vinegar in a bowl and set aside for a few minutes to curdle. This creates a vegan “buttermilk”
  4. Meanwhile, combine the flour and baking soda in a large bowl and mix with a wooden spoon
  5. Mix the coconut oil, agave nectar (if using), vanilla extract and bananas into the “buttermilk” mixture
  6. Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined
  7. Add in the chopped dates and stir into the mixture
  8. Divide the mixture evenly in your muffin tray
  9. Bake for approximately 20 minutes depending on the heat of your oven. You can bake it for longer if the muffins haven’t browned much on top.
  10. Take out of muffin tray and let it cool on a wire cooling rack.

I really liked how these muffins turned out and the fact that they are sugar-free. The sweetness comes from the dates so you don’t really need to use agave as a sweetener in this recipe. Also I used more bananas to make up for some of the oil in the recipe. The muffins turned out to be quite moist due to the bananas in the mixture and I liked the texture of the muffin. I thought that using all whole wheat flour might make these muffins a bit too dense and dry but was quite pleased to see that they were not too dense once baked and were nice and light. I will definitely be baking these again and Ms Shortee told me she enjoyed the muffins so I was very happy to hear such positive comments…Thank You!

Photos:

Photo courtesy of Ms Shortee – Muffin accompanied by a coffee to start the week =)

Flaked Almond Spelt Tuiles

I bought some flaked almonds from the supermarket recently and really wanted to make almond tuiles with them. I loved almond tuiles when I was growing up. My dad would often go to the patisserie on sunday when he wasn’t working and buy a packet of almond tuiles to share with us kids. It was so addictive that you couldn’t stop at one and soon enough the packet was always finished in a matter of minutes. I wanted to replicate these almond biscuits that I was so fond of when I was a child but somehow develop it into a more healthy recipe.

Ingredients I used:

  • A Packet of Almond Flakes (approximately 100g)
  • 1/2 Cup of White Spelt Flour
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of Sugar (you can use a sugar substitute here)
  • 1/3-1/2 cup of Coconut Butter melted
  • 2 Egg Whites

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a tray with baking paper and set aside
  3. Combine all the ingredients together and stir with a wooden spoon to combine
  4. Drop a tablespoon full of batter onto the lined tray and then flatten each drop of batter with the back of a spoon so that it is reasonably flat – this will make sure the cookie is thin and crispy. They should be roughly a few cms apart from each other
  5. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until brown on the outside of each cookie.
  6. Take out of oven and quickly mould them onto a rolling-pin to get the curve in the tuile.
  7. Once cool, you can put them into an airtight container to store for a few days if you haven’t eaten them all by then.

I was happy with my first attempt at this tuile but I definitely will need to fine tune the recipe and keep experimenting. I was rushing a bit as I was being a bit too over ambitious in the kitchen as usual and had to rush off to play basketball so I took out the tuile a bit earlier than the required time. Next time I will bake it for a bit longer until the tuiles have set to a nice light-dark brown colour on the edge of the cookies as I prefer my tuiles to be more crunchy. These turned out to be a bit more chewier as a result of taking them out earlier but I didn’t mind the texture and taste of these even if they weren’t the same consistency as I remember eating them when I was a child. The coconut butter lends a lovely subtle coconut flavour to these cookies without overpowering the whole tuile. Also, I only managed to make a few curved tuiles as my first few batches were a bit sticky and stuck itself onto my rolling-pin so they cracked a little when I tried to pull them off the rolling-pin. I will attempt this again with the proper curving on the tuile and let you all know the results. Mr Cookie Monster AKA Mr Muscles really loved these cookies so much so that he ended up stealing so many cookies and eating them quickly without me realising! Lucky I saved a few to give to Mrs Do who ate these cookies with a cup of tea this morning. Happy birthday again Mrs Do!

Photos:

Cookies with some tea =) Photo courtesy of Mrs Do – Loving that Tea Set!

I now feel like chanting the old childhood verse over and over:

“Who stole the cookie from the cookie jar?
Jackpot stole the cookie from the cookie jar
Who me? Yes you, couldn’t be, then who?”

;p

Until next time!

x

Jackie

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Banana, Biscuits and Cookies, Breakfast, Dessert, Health Food, Healthy, Muffins, Muffins, Nuts, Recipes, Snacks, Sugar Free, Vegan, Vegetarian, Western

Leave a Reply

