JACKPOT bakes: Earl Grey Yoghurt Spelt & Almond Mini Heart Cakes

Hi all!

It’s been one busy week and I’m glad that friday is finally here! Hope you all have had a good week so far…I know I’m definitely looking forward to some rest and relaxation on the weekend!

I just started watching the new season of Kitchen Nightmares last night and was mortified to see some of the things that Gordon Ramsay found when trying to help a struggling Italian restaurant e.g. raw chicken that had been dropped on the floor then put into the pan with the chef not caring and still wanting to cook with the chicken he had just dropped. I really enjoy watching this show and became quite addicted to watching all the transformations from struggling restaurants with food that people dislike to becoming popular restaurants with good food and a plentiful amount of customers. On top of this, last night I was watching Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals and everything looked so complex yet Jamie made it look so simple and so easy to make. After watching all those cooking/food shows, I knew I wanted to bake immediately, but what to bake…

I had some natural unsweetened yoghurt in the fridge and some earl grey tea in my pantry so I tried to see if I could find a recipe that could include these two ingredients into a dessert. If I’m not sipping on green tea at a restaurant or cafe, earl grey tea is the next best option for me and I had been wanting to bake an earl grey cake for a long time now but just never could find the right recipe. I searched the web for a while and came across this recipe by Butter Me Up Brooklyn (http://buttermeupbrooklyn.com/2012/05/earl-grey-almond-yogurt-cake/for an earl grey almond yoghurt cake and thought that I might try to see if I can replicate this recipe and modify it to make it a little different.

Earl Grey Yoghurt Spelt & Almond Mini Heart Cakes

Ingredients:

  • 3 bags of earl grey tea leaves
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 1 cup of raw blanched almond meal
  • 1 and 1/4 cup of white spelt flour
  • 2 tsps of baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup of honey or less depending on how sweet you like your cakes
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil melted
  • 2/3-1 cup of natural yoghurt
  • 2 eggs
  • a handful of sliced almonds for topping

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Spray a muffin tin/loaf tin with oil spray and set aside.
  3. In a saucepan, heat the milk and tea leaves (snip the tops of the tea bags to get the leaves) over low heat stirring occasionally. Keep doing this until the milk becomes warm and the tea starts to combine with the milk. Turn the heat off once the milk is warmed and set it aside.
  4. Combine the spelt flour, almond meal, baking powder and salt in a large bowl and set aside.
  5. In another bowl, combine the coconut oil, natural yoghurt, lemon juice, vanilla and honey until the oil and yoghurt have combined.
  6. Stir in the milk/tea leaves mixture into the wet ingredients.
  7. Crack the eggs in a separate bowl and whisk to break up the egg yolks then add the eggs into the yoghurt/oil mixture and beat until smooth.
  8. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients bowl and mix until combined. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  9. Pour the batter into the muffin tins or loaf tin and then sprinkle flaked almonds on top.
  10. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes for muffins/mini cakes or 45-50 minutes for a loaf tin.
  11. Once baked, take the cakes out of the oven and cool on a wire rack.

I was quite pleased with the results of the cake. There was a lot of moisture in the cake from the yoghurt and the flaked almonds on top gave the cakes a bit of a crunch compared to the soft cake. The lemon juice was quite predominant in the cake so if i make this next time I might reduce the amount of lemon juice by a half so that I can taste the earl grey more. I felt the earl grey taste was missing and was not strong enough even though 3 tea bag leaves were used. Despite this, I quite enjoyed the cake and will attempt this recipe again and fine tune it to make it even better next time. I loved the shape of my mini cakes. I had been wanting to use my heart silicone tin for a while now since I got it for my birthday and I was really happy with the results. Some of the cakes look a bit odd in shape only because I put a bit too much batter in each heart mould so they rose quite high given the amount of batter used.

Photos:

 

 

“If man has no tea in him, he is incapable of understanding truth and beauty”.

Japanese Proverb

 

x

Jackie

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Cake, Dessert, Healthy, Nuts, Recipes, Snacks, Western

Leave a Reply

