JACKPOT’s Weekend Eating Adventures at: Bread & Circus

Hello Readers!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! My weekend consisted of a delightful brekkie at Bread & Circus, a housewarming party with plentiful amounts of food and good company, watching NBA endlessly (Go the Houston Rockets!), a baking experiment and a basketball game (where we won!) and some much-needed R&R.

But back to my breakfast on Saturday morning at Bread & Circus. Mr Muscles decided to take me out for brekkie on Saturday morning and despite having a large endless list of breakfast/brunch places that I have still yet to go to, I opted to visit Bread & Circus again because the food is always consistent and great tasting. We have been here for breakfast quite a few times as we always enjoy the breakfast dishes on offer and I like the fact that the ingredients they use are all organic and healthy for you and I always leave this place feeling very satisfied having had such a wholesome and nutritious meal.

The food and drink items on the menu are considered to be quite expensive however it is justified as they use good ingredients and the serving size is quite big so you will always leave feeling quite full and satisfied. The cafe is situated in Alexandria in a warehouse shared with Campos Coffee. Most of the new cafes are situated in similar settings and it gives the cafe a nice atmosphere and feel to it compared to typical cafes you might frequent. The cafe is always busy especially around 9-10am so we always like to get there around 8:30am to ensure that we get a seat. The tables are all long tables where you sit with other customers and share the tables. It gives this cafe a cozy feel to it as the cafe itself is not very big and does not occupy too much of the warehouse space. On each table are various potted plants, plates of cutlery, and quirky looking bowls and drink dispensers. The setting almost resembles a home like appearance with a somewhat rustic and urban feel to it at the same time despite being set up in a warehouse.

On this visit to Bread & Circus, I decided to get the “Morning Jumble” (Full Plate)” – a tasting plate of all things breakfasty. I opted for the crunchy granola with organic soy milk alongside fresh fruit and biodynamic yoghurt. However you can get as an alternative, dairy free bircher muesli, cooked fruit and even vegan coconut yoghurt depending on your taste buds and dietary needs. The granola was really delicious with packed full of oats, dried fruit and plenty of various nuts including walnuts and almonds. I enjoyed it throughly and the fruit and yoghurt was a great accompaniment to the dish. I will definitely be ordering this next time I visit. The dish was served with a side of soy milk however I don’t usually eat my granola with milk opting usually to have it with yoghurt. Next time I might try the cooked fruit and the vegan coconut yoghurt to see the difference.

Mr Muscles on the other hand, decided to get “Jude’s very particular pancakes” mainly because I couldn’t decide between the granola and the pancakes for ages so in the end ordered the pancakes to ensure I would eat a few bites to satisfy my pancake cravings for the day. I love the fact that their pancakes really taste wholesome and nutritious but not too dense. The quinoa and buckwheat work really well together and this is the only place that I have seen where such a combination of pancakes exist. I truly do love their pancakes and wish I could somehow replicate these at home. I will let you know how I go in my attempts.

On a previous occasion, I ordered those same pancakes but Mr Muscles ordered the “Parmesan not-so-scrambled eggs” with real truffle oil and a side of preservative free free-range ham with a side of sourdough toast.” I could tell Mr Muscles really enjoyed this dish as the plate was demolished in a matter of minutes and the plate was left clean albeit a few crumbs. This is definitely a dish to order if you are in the mood for something a bit more hearty and fulfilling. But as always, me having such a big sweet tooth can never resist a sweet breakfast so pancakes is always what I usually order if I’m feeling extra hungry and wanting to treat myself for the weekend.

Photos from Bread & Circus:

Drinks Menu

Breakfast Menu

Drink Special of the Day: Ginger Spiced Chai Tea

Large Daily Juice Organic Orange Juice $8.00

Silver Jasmine Green Tea $4.00

Morning Jumble – tasting plate of all things breakfasty (Full Plate) with crunchy granola served with soy milk, finicky fresh fruit (kiwi, green apple, mango, orange and passionfruit) and biodynamic yoghurt $16.00

Jude’s very particular pancakes – pre-soaked buckwheat, black quinoa, coconut-rapadura wholefood pancakes with maple orange gloss served with a side of orange slices $16.00

Orange & Poppyseed Muffin – I ordered this muffin to take away as they were baked fresh that morning. The muffin however was a bit too orangey for me with bits of orange rind found within the muffin. I also felt the muffin was quite heavy and dense and therefore could not finish most of it.

On a previous visit:

Parmesan not-so scrambled eggs – biodynamic eggs under shaved parmesan with real truffle oil, something green, preservative-free free-range ham and a side of sourdough toast $23.00

Same pancakes as above but served with maple biodynamic yoghurt and grapefruit – nothing better than pancakes and maple…mmmmm ;P

Bread & Circus

21 Fountain Street

Alexandria NSW 2015

Ph: (02) 9698 2939

Trading Hours: Opening 7 days 8am-4pm

Website: http://www.breadandcircus.com.au/

 

Now to see if I can replicate those pancakes…

Till next time!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Cafe, Eggs, Fruit, Granola, Health Food, Muffins, Toast, Toasted Muesli, Vegan, Vegetarian, Western, Yoghurt

Leave a Reply

