JACKPOT bakes: Vegan Banana & Chocolate Layered Mini Cakes

Hi all!

I have been meaning to write this post earlier this week but got caught up with so many things this week that I didn’t end up having the time to.

On the weekend, I felt like baking as I usually do on  Sunday. Sunday has definitely become my baking day where I like to experiment with different recipes and see how the results are. I decided to make Vegan Banana & Chocolate Layered Cakes made in a muffin tin. I used a muffin tin purely because I was intending to bake this for my basketball team and figured this would be a lot easier to give out then having to cut a large cake into slices. I based my cake recipe on a recipe found on “My New Roots” (http://mynewroots.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/chocolate-banana-birthday-cake-with.html) albeit the chocolate glaze, baking it in a cake pan and using the maple glazed walnuts. Instead, I studded the banana section of the cake with walnuts for the crunch factor and just kept the chocolate taste (from using unsweetened cocoa powder) to give it a good taste contrast: slightly bitter from the cocoa and some sweetness from the bananas.

Vegan Banana & Chocolate Layered Mini Cakes

Ingredients

Banana Cake Layer

  • 1 cup of white spelt flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 cup of soy milk
  • 2 tbsp of melted coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp of pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • 3 medium bananas mashed
  • 1/4 cup – 1/2 cup of walnuts

Chocolate Cake Layer

  • 1 cup of white spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup of soy milk
  • 2-3 tbsp of melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a muffin/cupcake tray with muffin cups or if not using liners, spray your muffin tray well with oil spray
  3. Start with the banana cake mixture first: In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together and set aside.
  4.  In a separate bowl, mix the mashed bananas, milk, oil, maple syrup, vanilla extract and combine together until smooth
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently fold it in being careful not to overmix the batter.
  6. Add the walnuts to the mixture
  7. Set the banana cake mixture aside and start the chocolate cake mixture
  8. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt together and set aside.
  9. In a separate bowl, combine the maple syrup, milk, oil, vanilla extract and vinegar and whisk together.
  10. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon to combine removing any lumps that may appear in the batter.
  11. Pour the chocolate cake mixture on the bottom of the muffin tin in each muffin hole (mixture should be enough to fit half of each muffin hole).
  12. Pour the banana cake mixture on top of the chocolate layer into each muffin hole.
  13. Bake in the oven for approximately 25 minutes depending on how hot your oven is.
  14. Remove from the muffin tray and place the muffins on a cooling rack to cool down.
  15. Try not to eat them all at once because it was very difficult for me to stop eating at 1.

I was happy with the way these mini cakes came out and the fact that the recipe is vegan without using any refined sugar and eggs. The layer of chocolate and banana is quite distinctive and the bitter and sweet taste works well when baked together. I liked how there was a nice brown top on the banana part of the cake from the oven which gave it a nice appearance in contrast to the dark chocolate layer on the bottom. The cake I found was very moist from the bananas and the chocolate layer was soft and did not dry up. I liked that the cakes were not too sweet using more of the natural sweetness from the bananas. The cake did not need any type of glaze I thought as it was quite decadent already with chocolate and banana in different layers. I used more bananas purposely so that I could use less oil in the cakes. I will definitely be experimenting with more banana recipes as I have quite a few ripe bananas sitting in my kitchen at the moment. I’m thinking banana cookies next…or maybe banana and quinoa pancakes..mmmm ;P

Photos:

*Excuse the slightly deformed cake – however it still tasted good!

NOM NOM NOM!

UPDATE:

I baked the Almond Tuiles again, this time baking them for around 18 minutes till they were nice and golden brown. I was extremely happy with the results as they were the exact texture of the cookies I remembered as a kid. It had a nice crunch to it and it was crispy on the edges just like how I remembered. This will definitely be something I make again and again =)

And just to show you my other baking adventures:

VEGAN BAKED BANANA DONUTS

These tasted nice and you could really taste the bananas in it (also the cinnamon as I added quite a bit of cinnamon in the donut mixture) despite looking a bit dishevelled. The donuts stuck to my pan and were a nightmare to get out. I will try this recipe again and report back with hopefully better results! Here are some photos of my vegan banana donuts for your viewing =)

“Have your cake and eat it… there’s no other reason to have a cake!
Derren Brown

Till next time ;P

x

Jaclyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Cake, Dessert, Healthy, Nuts, Recipes, Snacks, Vegan, Western

Leave a Reply

