JACKPOT makes: Gluten Free Quinoa & Banana Pancakes

Hi all!

This is just a short post to show you all some pancakes I made over the weekend. As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I had been itching to try to make some quinoa pancakes after my numerous visits to Bread & Circus and finally I found an opportunity to make them over the weekend. Also, as I had some really ripe bananas sitting on my kitchen table, I thought it would be nice to mix the quinoa with the banana for some added flavour and sweetness. I based my pancakes off “The Healthy Chef” website (http://www.thehealthychef.com/2012/05/102/) where I usually find an array of recipes to browse through, both savoury and sweet. Teresa Cutter has some really great recipes on there that are easy to follow and focus purely on using good healthy ingredients and using grains and wholefoods instead of the refined flours and sugars in most foods. The recipe I based from her website was for pancakes with orange blossom honey however I did not have any oranges in my kitchen nor any orange blossom water so I skipped this in favour of pure maple syrup to serve the pancakes with.

What I loved about this recipe was that the actually pancake mixture did not take long to make. The only time spent was waiting for the quinoa, flaxseed and milk to soak for an hour and the actual cooking of the pancakes. The mixture itself was very simple due to the use of my trusty Vitamix in which all the ingredients were pretty much thrown into the blender and blended until smooth.

I found the pancakes to be not only fluffy and light but there was also the lovely added texture of the black quinoa which gave a nice nutty flavour to the pancakes (the quinoa was not cooked so the raw quinoa added a nice crunch to the pancakes). The bananas also lended some natural sweetness to the pancakes as there was no sugar used in this recipe. While they might not be on the same level as the Bread & Circus pancakes, I will definitely try these pancakes again, perhaps with different combinations such as mixing blueberries or raspberries into the mixture, or adding some buckwheat into the mixture.

Gluten Free Banana & Quinoa Pancakes (Adapted from the Healthy Chef’s “Pancakes + Orange Blossom Honey)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of black quinoa seeds (uncooked)
  • 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed or chia seeds if you have it
  • 1.5 cups of almond milk or any other non dairy milk
  • 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 2 free range/organic eggs
  • 1/2 tsp of bicarb soda
  • 2-3 medium bananas smashed with a fork

Method:

  1. Soak the black quinoa seeds and ground flaxseed/chia seed with the almond milk and set aside to soak for an hour (the website says that you should soak it overnight to get better results..I didn’t want to wait that long and I thought that soaking it for 1 hour still produced great results)
  2. Place all the ingredients except the bananas into a high-speed blender (I used my Vitamix) and blend until smooth and creamy
  3. Remove the mixture into a bowl and fold in the bananas
  4. Cook the pancakes on an oiled non-stick frying pan (I used my crepe pan but you can use any flat non-stick pan) and cook until the pancakes are golden. I found that the pancakes cooked really quickly so you should watch the pancakes carefully. The first one usually always burns so don’t worry about the first one or two of the mixture. Eventually you will get the right consistency. I usually flip my pancakes when a few bubbles appear and you can notice the edges getting a bit browner and crispier. A few minutes on each side should suffice.
  5. Repeat step 4 until you have used all the pancake batter up.
  6. Serve your pancakes hot with pure maple syrup or a side of fruit.
  7. Enjoy!

Photos:

 

* You can really see the quinoa in the pancakes – all that grainy goodness!

Nothing better than eating pancakes with good grains and seeds ;P

mmmmm pancakes…

“He who goes to bed hungry dreams of pancakes”

Proverb

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Banana, Breakfast, Gluten Free, Health Food, Pancakes, Recipes, Seeds and Grains, Western

Leave a Reply

