JACKPOT bakes: Vegan Gingerbread Muffins

Hello all!

Can’t believe it’s Monday already! It’s been another jam-packed weekend of work, basketball and baking. I’m really hoping this week flies by quickly towards another weekend so I can finally catch up on some sleep.

I felt the urge to bake on the weekend but wasn’t sure what I wanted to bake. I had set my mind on making mini vegan sticky date cakes but then changed my mind at the last second which I tend to do very frequently and decided on making Vegan Gingerbread Muffins. Lately I have been loving all things ginger which is quite unusual for me as I used to never like ginger as a kid but as the years passed by I have learnt to appreciate the flavour of ginger and now love to use it in my baking where possible. Mr Muscles must have picked up on my ginger craving recently because a few days ago he surprised me with some dark chocolate that had ginger pieces studded into the chocolate…mmm nothing better than dark chocolate and ginger. I had to restrain myself from eating too much of it as it was rather addictive and I soon vowed to myself that I would eat less chocolate after consuming quite a bit of it…the war with chocolate however resulted in Chocolate 1 Jackie 0…I can only hope I show some better self-restraint this week…one can only hope!

So back to the actual topic of this blog: I based my Vegan Gingerbread Muffins on a recipe I found at “Southern In-Law” (http://southerninlaw.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/recipe-healthy-gingerbread-muffins-gluten-free.html). I wanted to make a vegan muffin without using any eggs, no oil and a small amount of sweetener. I found that the muffin turned out to be quite soft and moist in the centre but didn’t really form a hard top on the muffin like most muffins that you usually eat. I didn’t mind this however as the cake itself was quite gingery and the use of molasses and cinnamon really brought out the gingerbread flavour. I also used wholemeal spelt flour in the muffin mixture which provided added fibre and nutrition. I gave one of the muffins for Mr Muscles to try and while he said they weren’t bad, he mentioned that there was something definitely missing from the muffin. Whilst he could taste the ginger, he said that the flavours were still quite neutral. I tasted a few and agreed that there might have been something missing…perhaps more ginger, perhaps something for crunch like some nuts studded in the muffin. I will have to experiment more. I gave my muffins for lil R to try and she seemed to like them so I guess it wasn’t a huge baking failure. I will definitely try more ginger recipes soon…but for now…these muffins will have to do!

Vegan Gingerbread Muffins (Adapted from Southern In-Law)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of wholemeal spelt flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1-2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1-2 tsp of ground ginger (you can even put finely diced ginger pieces if you want to get more ginger flavour)
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk or soy milk
  • 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4-1/3 cup of evaporated cane juice
  • 1/4 cup of blackstrap molasses
  • heaping 1/2 cup of applesauce

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a muffin tray tin with muffin cups and set aside
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ground ginger and set aside
  4. In a small bowl, whisk the almond milk with the apple cider vinegar and set aside to curdle for 5 minutes
  5. In a separate mixing bowl, combine the sweetener, molasses and applesauce with the milk mixture.
  6. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until combined
  7. Fill the muffin cups approximately 3/4’s full (these muffins won’t rise too high so don’t worry about filling up the muffin cups too high)
  8. Bake in the oven for approximately 20 minutes (for regular sized muffins). Poke a muffin with a skewer to see if it has set around this time if not leave it in for another 5 minutes.
  9. Take the muffins out of the oven and set them on a wire rack to cool down.
  10. Serve warm with a cup of tea or coffee. Enjoy!

Jackpot’s Note: I also baked mini muffins. If baking mini muffins, you should bake the muffins for approximately 8-10 minutes.

Photos:

I thought I’d also post a few pics of some cake pops I received over the weekend from Ms Pen. She made Halloween themed cake pops with caramel mudcake inside…how yummy! Thanks Ms Pen! Did I mention however that Mr Muscles devoured most of the cake pops himself…I think he is beginning to have a bigger sweet tooth than me ;P

The photos don’t do it justice! caramel mudcake…nom nom nom… I felt like saying “please sir, I want some more…” but one can’t be too greedy now!

Inside shot of the cake pop – look at all that caramel goodness ;P

“People who love to eat are always the best people”          

Julia Child

Stay tuned for my toasted muesli recipe ;P

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Healthy, Muffins, Muffins, Oil Free, Recipes, Snacks, Vegan, Vegetarian, Western

Leave a Reply

