JACKPOT’s homemade maple and coconut toasted muesli

Hello readers!

I thought I would share with all of you my homemade toasted muesli I made the other night.

I usually go through weeks of eating the same breakfast foods day in and day out and then the next couple of weeks I’ll change it up and eat something else for a few weeks day in and day out. My usual breakfasts consist of: Egg white omelette with mushrooms, low-fat yoghurt with raw organic honey and fruit or with toasted muesli, homemade banana bread or muffins I have made earlier on and frozen for future breakfasts. So lately, I have been feeling like muesli for breakfast and while it’s nice to go out and eat muesli at some of the cafes I frequent, during the weekdays I prefer to eat breakfast at home and leave the breakfast/brunch outings for the weekend. I decided to make my own toasted muesli with a wide variety of ingredients. The best part of making your own toasted muesli is that the possibilities are endless and you can tailor the ingredients to what you like eating. I usually find that when I go out to cafes and eat muesli I end up picking at it as I am not a huge fan of sultanas or raisins in my muesli. I’ll usually finish most of the muesli but you will often see a large pile of sultanas or raisins left behind. You definitely won’t find any sultanas or raisins in my toasted muesli ;P

I was really happy with my toasted muesli. It had all the ingredients that I wanted. Whilst toasted muesli has a lot of good fats and is loaded with nuts and seeds, it is quite high in calorie so you only should be eating a handful. I like the fact that it makes you feel fuller for longer so you don’t need to eat too much of it. I love to eat my muesli on its own or with some yoghurt. You could also make a yoghurt parfait with the toasted muesli and plate it up in a tall glass with layers of yoghurt then muesli then yoghurt again and then top with muesli and fruit. You can even serve the muesli with some poached fruit: poached pear or poached rhubarb would pair nicely with the muesli. I know the muesli must have been nice as most of it is now gone and I thought I had might quite the big batch but somehow the muesli monster appeared and demolished half of it already!

Jackpot’s homemade maple and coconut toasted muesli

NB: This makes quite a large batch of toasted muesli as I only used the measurements as an approximation i.e. you can put in more or less depending on your preferences

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups Organic Rolled Oats
  • 1/4 cup  Almonds (Skin On)
  • 1/4 cup Walnut Halves
  • 1/4 cup of Pecans
  • 1/4 cup of Pepitas
  • 1/4 cup of Sunflower Seeds
  • 1/4 cup of Fine Coconut
  • 1/4 cup of Dried Apricots
  • 3-4 tbsps of black chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees Celsius.
  2. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, nuts, seeds, dried fruit and coconut.
  4. Mix in the coconut oil and maple syrup into the oats mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until the wet ingredients have combined with the dry ingredients
  5. Pour batter onto a lined baking tray spreading across the whole tray (you may need to use 2 trays as I found I had a lot of oat mixture in my bowl)
  6. Bake in the oven for approximately 40 minutes, turning the toasted muesli frequently so that it does not burn. (I turned up the heat to 180 degrees Celsius in the last 5 minutes to brown my muesli more but you do not need to do this if you would like your muesli lightly toasted)
  7. Take out of the oven and let the muesli rest until cool.
  8. Transfer your toasted muesli to an airtight container for storage.
  9. Try not to eat it all at once!

Notes:

  • I found that my dried fruit burned a bit too quickly during the time in the oven. So you can opt to bake your dried fruit a bit later on by adding in the dried fruit 10 minutes near the end of baking.
  • Also, I have read on sites that many people like to put the nuts in a bit later so that they do not get that burnt bitter taste. I didn’t notice this when I baked my nuts in the muesli during the baking time however you can try this and see the difference.
  • You can add other ingredients: next time I plan to make this with gogi berries, dried cranberries and coconut flakes
  • You can also make the toasted muesli with fruit juice instead of the maple syrup to sweeten the muesli. I didn’t use much oil so my muesli mixture was quite dry but it didn’t seem to affect the results of the toasted muesli.

Photos:

 

I paired my toasted muesli today with some honey and almond yoghurt…mmmmmmm….nothing better than muesli and yoghurt ;P

“Life is uncertain.  Eat dessert first.”  Ernestine Ulmer

Till next time guys!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Health Food, Nuts, Recipes, Toasted Muesli, Vegan, Vegetarian, Western, Yoghurt

Leave a Reply

