JACKPOT bakes: Spelt Cinnamon Rolls

Hi all!

TGIF! Thank goodness the weekend is just around the corner! It’s going to be a really hot one tomorrow! I’m definitely not a fan of the hot hot heat always preferring winter over summer. If only I could find a big fridge that I could fit into and just lay there in the cold while the day gets hotter tomorrow…one can dream right?

I thought I would post some pictures for some spelt cinnamon rolls I made during the week. Unfortunately, with baking experiments especially when you are trying to cut down on the fat, sugar and oil/butter in a recipe you tend to get from time to time a few baking failures. I’m not going to post the recipe as I really need to tweak it and mostly because I was improvising a lot of the time not really measuring out my flours and sweeteners and going by the feel and look of the cinnamon rolls. I wouldn’t go to say they were a complete failure however I do believe I need to go back to the drawing board and try to make an even better cinnamon roll recipe.

Cinnamon rolls tend to be very buttery and full of sugar however I knew I wanted to make a healthier version of this by reducing the amount of butter and replacing the butter with coconut butter and reducing the amount of sugar and replace this with coconut sugar. By doing this, I created a subtle coconut flavour to these cinnamon rolls which can be contrasted to the usual cinnamon rolls you might buy at the bakery.

The results from my first attempt at these healthy cinnamon rolls were that they needed a lot more sweetener. I did not seem to use enough coconut sugar in the mixture inside the dough and also inside the actual cinnamon rolls. Also, I found that the cinnamon roll itself was a bit on the dry side and was quite dense as I used whole wheat spelt flour for the dough. The next day, the cinnamon rolls seemed to become even drier and harder in texture and I found they did not store well as a result. I will be posting my second attempt at these rolls later on when I attempt them again.

Here are some pictures from my baking experiment:

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Till next time!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert, Health Food, Healthy, Snacks, Western

Leave a Reply

