JACKPOT bakes: Spinach, Capsicum and Fetta Whole Wheat Spelt Muffins

Hello readers!

I know what you all must be thinking…a savoury recipe? Especially when all my recipes have been sweet and I have highlighted the fact that I have an enormous sweet tooth that I need to satisfy constantly. But as I mentioned in my previous post, I am noticing more and more that I do not crave sweet food as much as I used to and that I now prefer to have some savoury food over sweet food. Now don’t get me wrong, I still will always indulge in dessert when I can but I think that because of my change in taste buds recently, you might just see a few more savoury recipes on this blog and perhaps me eating more savoury foods over sweet foods in future posts.

I went to Eveleigh Markets Saturday morning after my breakfast and my inspiration for these muffins came about as I was taste testing some savoury muffins at the markets. There is a stall there that does low-fat healthy muffins with various ingredients from corn and sun-dried tomato to spinach and fetta and some sweet muffins such as banana and date, chocolate and zucchini and blueberry. After taste testing some of their savoury muffins, I knew I wanted to see if I could attempt my own healthier version using whole wheat flour instead of white flour with my own healthy ingredients.

As I had never made savoury muffins before, I researched on the web to find some savoury muffin recipes that I could use to tweak to my own version. I found a recipe at http://bakedinlove.blogspot.com.au/2010/10/pumpkin-spinach-feta-muffins.html for some pumpkin, spinach and fetta muffins. I used this recipe as a base to make my own type of savoury muffin.

Spinach Capsicum & Fetta Spelt Muffins

Ingredients:

Makes 12 muffins

  • 1 large handful of baby chopped baby spinach (I added more than a handful as I love spinach)
  • 1 capsicum diced into small cubes (I just used the outside of the capsicum)
  • 3 tbsps of sunflower seed kernels (you could even use chia seeds, pumpkin seeds or flax seeds)
  • 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan (I used less than this as I didn’t want my muffin to be too cheesy)
  • 1/2 cup of low-fat fetta, cubed
  • 3 tsps of whole grain seeded mustard
  • 2 large free range organic eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3/4 cup of soy milk
  • 2 cups of whole wheat spelt flour (if you don’t want to use all whole wheat then you can sub in for white flour instead)
  • 4 tsps of baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • cracked black pepper for seasoning

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.
  2. Grease a muffin tray with baking spray/olive oil spray and set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the chopped spinach, capsicum cubes, sunflower seeds, grated parmesan, cubed fetta and seeded mustard and set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and soymilk together and then add this mixture to the other bowl.
  5. Add in the spelt flour and baking powder into the mixture and season with salt and cracked black pepper. Fold in the flour until the batter is just combined (do not over mix the batter).
  6. Using an ice cream scoop or spoon, scoop the batter into the greased muffin pan filling to about 3/4’s full (I scooped mine a bit higher than that and there was no problem when baking as the muffins did not rise too high).
  7. Bake for approximately 15-20 minutes depending on the heat of your oven (My muffins were done by 16 minutes, but you can judge based on the appearance of the muffins and based on touch. If the muffins are browning on the tops and sides and is a bit firm to the touch then they are ready)
  8. Take the muffins out of the muffin pan and let it cool on a wire rack.
  9. Enjoy! Best eaten when they have just come out of the oven.
  10. You can store these in the freezer as a quick go to meal for breakfast or as a snack when you are feeling hungry.

I was really happy with the muffins. They were loaded with vegetables and low-fat fetta. The sunflower seeds gave it a nice crunch factor when you bit into the muffin against the soft capsicum, spinach and fetta. The use of all whole wheat flour made these muffins a bit more dense, however you could tell with each bite that this was healthy and good for you and didn’t leave you feeling too heavy after. I will definitely be making more savoury muffins next time…perhaps a corn, capsicum and fetta muffin or a quinoa and pumpkin muffin…the possibilities are endless!

Photos from my baking adventures:

Spinach

Chopped Spinach

Spinach Mixture

Spinach Mixture 1

Spinach Mixture 2

Spinach Mixture 3
Egg & Milk Mixture
Egg Mixture
Wet Mixture
Wet and Dry Mixture
Muffin Mixture 1
Muffin Mixture 2
Muffin Mixture 3
Baked Muffin
Muffins
Muffins 2
Till Next Time
x
Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Muffins, Recipes, Snacks, Western

Leave a Reply

