JACKPOT makes Vegan Matcha Banana Pancakes

Hello dear readers!

Happy Shrove Tuesday i.e. Happy Pancake Day! In honour of pancake day I decided to post my new recipe for vegan pancakes. There is nothing better than enjoying a nice stack of pancakes on your weekend of indulgment but who says you can’t enjoy a pancake or two on a weekday ;P

I love experimenting in the kitchen with various healthy desserts so when I noticed that my bananas in my kitchen were starting to turn quite spotty, black and not that very appealing, I decided to make some vegan pancakes for breakfast on Sunday morning. I wanted to make matcha (green tea) pancakes for quite some time so this gave me the perfect opportunity to experiment and see whether the flavours would all work together. I’ve made vegan green tea banana muffins before too so I figured the flavours would be quite similar.

I was very happy with the way my pancakes turned out. While I probably need to work on the presentation of my pancakes, taste wise they were very flavoursome contrasting the slightly bitter taste from the green tea powder with the sweet ripe taste of the bananas slightly sweetened with some pure maple syrup. I’m definitely going to make these again as it is so simple to make and it doesn’t take long to whip up the pancake batter mixture. Plus it’s very healthy and you won’t feel bad after eating 2 or 3 of these pancakes. I found that the ripeness of the bananas made these pancakes a lot softer than most of the fluffier pancakes I have eaten but the fact that this is vegan and that it doesn’t require any eggs was even better as I usually find I run out of eggs so this is a good alternative.

Who am I kidding…any excuse to eat pancakes…green tea and bananas and a bit of maple syrup…I’m definitely in heaven! ;P

JACKPOT’s vegan matcha banana pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup of White Spelt Flour
  • 1/2 Cup of Whole Wheat Spelt Flour
  • 1-2 Tbs of Green Tea Powder (Matcha) – you can adjust this to your preference (I usually go by the appearance of the green colour – too dark a green colour means you have put too much matcha in the mixture)
  • 1 Tsp of Baking Powder
  • A pinch of Salt
  • 3/4 Cup of Vegan Buttermilk (3/4 Cup of Soy Milk + 2 Tbs of Apple Cider Vinegar)
  • 1 Tbs of coconut oil
  • 1-2 Tbs of Pure Maple Syrup (depending on how sweet your bananas are you may not need to add too much sweetness to the batter) + extra for topping (optional)
  • 1 Tsp of  Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1-2 Bananas Mashed with a fork (I used 2 bananas because I love bananas and I wanted more banana flavour in my pancakes)

Method:

  1. Combine the flours, matcha powder, baking powder and salt in a big bowl and set aside.
  2. Mash the bananas in a smaller bowl with a fork until the bananas are pureed. If you want your pancakes to be more chunky with bigger banana pieces then you do not need to mash the bananas too much with your fork.
  3. Measure out 3/4 of a cup of soy milk (I used almond milk) and place 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar into the mixture and stir briefly. Leave this milk mixture aside until the milk curdles.
  4. Add the vegan buttermilk mixture to the bananas along with the coconut oil, maple syrup and vanilla extract and mix together.
  5. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  6. Heat up a fry pan or pancake pan with a bit of oil and wait till the pan is hot. I usually put the heat on low so that the pancakes don’t end up burning on the bottom which tends to often happen when the heat is on too high.
  7. Add about 1-2 tablespoons of the batter into the pan and smooth over the mixture in the pan with the back of the spoon.
  8. Once the pancake begins to bubble slightly and the edges start cooking, flip your pancake over and cook the other side. This should only be a few minutes on each side. Be careful not to burn your pancakes by watching the pancake pan often and ensuring the bottoms are not burnt.
  9. Place the cooked pancake on a plate and repeat the cooking process for the rest of the mixture until the mixture is finished.
  10. Serve the pancakes with maple syrup or other sweeteners or you can just enjoy the pancakes as is like I did.

Photos from my pancake experiment:

Flour Mixture

Mashed Bananas

Wet Mixture

Wet Mixture 2

Wet and Dry Ingredients

Pancake Batter

Matcha Pancakes

Matcha Pancakes 1

Until next time!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Health Food, Matcha, Pancakes, Recipes, Vegan, Western

Leave a Reply

