JACKPOT visits Jones the Grocer

Hello dear readers!

Happy Monday! Haven’t had much sleep as I was having trouble sleeping last night after a very intense grand finals for my mixed basketball team…runners up in the end but a very close match nonetheless! Hope you all enjoyed your weekend indulging in all those “eat only on the weekend” type foods and hopefully getting some nice rest and relaxation in between…I know I definitely indulged especially with desserts…I curse my sweet tooth and am thinking of trying to decrease my intake of desserts so as to be a bit more healthier…but it’s so difficult when you know there are items on the menu that you can’t resist ordering….hopefully i’ll kick this bad habit of mine…I keep telling myself…it’s ok, it’s the weekend…but I use this excuse every weekend… ;P

So last Friday night, Mr Muscles decided to take me out for dinner as we hadn’t been out for a date night in a very long time. I had noticed that there was a new restaurant in Westfield near Price Line where the old Becasse used to be and really wanted to try it out so Mr Muscles decided to take me there for dinner that night. Jones the Grocer apparently used to be located in Woollahra but closed recently and moved to Westfield. There is a grocery store on the side of the restaurant where you can purchase various grocery items and in front of the restaurant there are various delectable sweet treats to choose from such as vanilla slices, fruit tarts and various other cakes and desserts. But if this doesn’t take your fancy, they also bake fresh bread loaves that you can purchase daily baked fresh from their ovens.  Furthermore, in the cabinets inside the restaurant, they have a variety of cheeses and various smallgoods that you can purchase. I feel like this place definitely has something for every type of taste bud.

Jones

Jones2

Jones3

Drinks

Grocery

Grocery 2

Cheese

Smallgoods

Bar

Restaurant

Kitchen

Menu

Menu

The Menu

Mr Muscles and I decided that we should indulge for the night and decided to order 3 courses.

Risotto

Mr Muscles entrée: Soft herb risotto with fresh asparagus, tallegio & black truffle oil $16.00

Mr Muscles decided to order the risotto as he had never tried risotto before this. It was either this or the angel hair pasta with blue swimmer crab which he was decided between. He was really happy with his choice of entrée as the flavours were wonderful and the risotto was wonderfully cooked and very creamy. I tried a bit of his risotto and really enjoyed the dish however it’s definitely one of the more heavier starters on the menu…but indulging includes eating carb-loaded foods ;P

Mushroom Cappuccino

My entrée: Mushroom Cappuccino with Truffle Cream served with Grissini $14.00

I ordered the Mushroom Cappuccino aka fancy mushroom soup as I wanted something different. The soup was cleverly presented in a coffee cup and served with a grissini bread stick. I really enjoyed the soup despite the soup being quite heavy. This entrée was very decadent, rich and as you got closer to the bottom of the soup, there were lovely bits of mushrooms to chew on. Mr Muscles tried a bit of my soup and agreed that this was a really lovely entrée.

Beef Short Rib

Mr Muscle’s main: Slow-Cooked Beef Short Rib with Roast Eye Fillet, Mushrooms & Red Wine Sauce $35.00

Mr Muscles ordered the beef as his main and was not disappointed. He loved everything about the dish from the tender eye fillet steaks to the melt in your mouth slow cooked beef short rib. There was a delicate and wonderful balance of flavours that really made the dish a success. Mr Muscles noted that the portion size was quite decent for a main course meal. The dish was also really well presented and Mr Muscles noted that he probably would order this dish again if we come back to visit this restaurant.

Salmon

My Main: Pan-Fried Atlantic Salmon Fillet with Cherry Tomato & Black Bean Vierge $30.00

I decided to order the salmon as I wanted to have a lighter main to purposely give me more room for dessert as I had been eyeing out the dessert menu even before Mr Muscles and I had started eating. The salmon was wonderfully cooked with the skin on. My only qualm about the dish was that I thought that the accompaniments to the dish didn’t quite go together. The black beans were extremely salty and while the fish itself was not salty, each time I took a mouthful of the salmon and the black beans, the black beans seemed to over power the fish. Regardless of this factor, I still quite enjoyed my choice of main.

Pannacotta

My dessert: Citrus Pannacotta with Strawberries, Basil & Candied Almonds $12.00

I couldn’t wait for dessert that when the waitress asked if we wanted to order any dessert I immediately responded a bit too quickly. I knew what I wanted to order and decided to order the pannacotta as I love all things pannacotta and couldn’t wait to try out their take on the pannacotta. I had been staring at the kitchen area where the staff were making desserts all night. They had kitchen aids and they were prepping all the desserts at the time and it was really interesting to see what desserts they were making. However, I was quite disappointed with my pannacotta only because the texture didn’t resemble a typical pannacotta. If anything, the pannacotta resembled more a creme caramel type texture. The pannacotta perhaps needed more gelatine or cream. The accompaniments to the dish however were lovely and I really enjoyed the candied almonds. I still ate most of my dessert but wished that the texture had been different.

Mousse

Mr Muscles dessert: Dark chocolate & Raspberry Mousse $12.00

Mr Muscles ordered dessert based on the fact that the knew I wanted to try out two desserts but to make me not feel as bad, he ordered one so that I could pick at his dessert while also eating mine…sigh me and my sweet tooth ;P I really had big time dessert envy when they brought his dessert out…the presentation of the dessert was really pretty and all the flavours paired really well together. The chocolate mousse was decadent but light at the same time. It really was a great dessert and I ended up eating more of this dessert than my own.

I’m definitely going to try the other desserts if we visit here again next time as I saw a lot of people ordering their home-made ice creams and sorbets.

All in all it was a really great date night with good food. Jones the Grocer is still relatively new and opened up only last week but I can tell that it’s going to be quite busy soon. They don’t accept bookings for tables of under 6 people but you can always walk in and try your luck like we did. There was no wait when we walked in as the restaurant was still quite empty at the time we went.

You should definitely try out their desserts at the front of the restaurant. I tried a lovely quinoa and date cake from there and really enjoyed it.

I know this is going to be a massive week of eating as Mr Muscle’s birthday is tomorrow and we have a birthday dinner on Wednesday to celebrate. Stay tuned for that post!

Jones the Grocer

Shop 5018, Level 5 Westfield
Cnr Market & Castlereagh St, Sydney NSW 2000

Trading Hours
Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00pm

Website: http://www.jonesthegrocer.com/

Until next time!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Bakery, Dinner, Restaurant, Sydney, Western

Leave a Reply

