JACKPOT makes vegan blueberry and chia pancake waffles

Hello readers!

I thought I’d do another recipe post but this time featuring some pancake waffles. Not quite a pancake and not quite a waffle and having the best of both worlds, I can’t think of anything better! It was Miss Shortee’s birthday over the weekend and as she was holding a brunch party for her birthday I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to make some pancake waffles. Miss S’s present has really come in handy with all these recipes I’m testing and I was really happy with the results of my pancake waffles. I’m thinking I should call them paffles or waffcake…ok ok I’ll work on a better name soon ;P

I wanted to make this recipe healthy so I added blueberries and chia seeds along with spelt flour. The pancake waffle itself was soft reminiscent of a pancake and it was light and fluffy. I loved how the blueberries burst in your mouth and the chia seeds give it a whole different taste. There’s a little crunch from the chia seeds which contrasts the soft pancake. I squashed a few blueberries into the mixture on purpose to try and get a blue hue from the blueberries but I couldn’t really notice the difference after I had cooked the pancakes.

Vegan Blueberry and Chia Pancake Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of white spelt flour (You can use whole wheat instead if you want a more denser pancake)
  • 1 tbsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of soy milk (I used almond milk but you can use any type of soy milk)
  • 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar (Used to create your vegan buttermilk)
  • 2 tbs of pure maple syrup
  • 2 tbs of coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of blueberries (I smashed a few of the blueberries into the mixture to try and get a more blueberry colour to the pancakes)
  • 2-3 Tbs of Chia Seeds (I didn’t really measure this out so you can put more on less depending on your taste buds)

Method:

  1. Mix all your dry ingredients together (spelt flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt) in a big bowl with a wooden spoon and set aside.
  2. Mix the apple cider vinegar with the soy milk in a small bowl and let it curdle for a few minutes to create your vegan buttermilk. Add in the maple syrup and the coconut oil into the milk mixture.
  3. Mix your dry ingredients with your wet ingredients to form the pancake waffle batter.
  4. Add in the chia seeds and the blueberries and fold them into the batter.
  5. Heat up a crepe/pancake pan (I used a pancake waffle pan) with a bit of oil.
  6. Spoon a big tablespoon of the batter into the pan (I used an ice cream scoop) and let it brown for a few minutes until bubbles start forming on the top of the pancake waffle. Once the bubbles have appeared, flip your pancake waffle and cook the other side for a few minutes.
  7. Rest your cooked pancake waffles on a plate while you repeat the cooking process until all your batter is finished.
  8. Enjoy your pancake waffles with pure maple syrup or with some chopped fruit.

Flour Mixture

Wet Ingredients

Wet Ingredients 2

Pancake Mixture

Pancakes with Chia Seeds

Blueberries Pancake Mixture

Cooking the Pancake Waffle

Pancake Waffles

Pancake Waffles

Kinda looks like a face with hair ;P

Until next time!

x

Jackie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Health Food, Pancakes, Recipes, Vegan, Waffles, Western

Leave a Reply

