JACKPOT’s baking experiments…

Hello dear readers!

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

I know it’s been a bit slow on the posting front but I’ve been having a not so lucky month this April and been busy with lots of training for basketball as well. Hopefully I’ll be able to post a few new posts soon but bear with me in the meantime!

I made vegan Chocolate Pear and Almond Muffins a few weeks ago for Miss Shortee’s birthday and I forgot to post the recipe but because the muffins didn’t turn out as what I really wanted I won’t be posting the recipe this time around and will just show you the photos from this baking experiment until I perfect the recipe further. To be honest, I moulded this recipe on the fact that I bought some lovely pears from the supermarket and really wanted to bake with them. Also, I had some whole raw blanched almonds in my pantry so figured that this might go well with the chocolate and the pear in the muffins and so voila chocolate pear and almond muffins resulted ;P

I definitely need to work on the presentation of these muffins as I think i overfilled the cupcake liners and some of the batter spilled a bit over the sides of some of the muffins due to me greedily wanting to fit all the batter into just 12 muffins when really it could have made quite a few more muffins but taste wise the muffins were soft with a nice little crunch from the almonds. I would also probably cook the pears down to make them softer next time around as I thought they were still quite hard after baking them in the oven.

Pears

Dry Ingredients

Wet Ingredients

Muffin mixture

Muffin Mixture 1

Muffin Mixture 2

Muffin Liners

Out of the Oven

Muffins

Muffins 2

Muffin Close Up

Muffin Close Up 2

And I thought I’d post a picture of another baking experiment where I made my version of “Bolu Kukus” aka Indonesian steamed sponge cakes using pandan and strawberry pastes to make those lovely bright colours in the sponge. I was really happy with this as the sponge cakes “bloomed” as my mum would say. A lot of the time after baking these sponge cakes, my sponge cakes didn’t bloom and I was really starting to think that I was no good at baking these sponge cakes anymore but luckily this time around something must have worked out. Can’t wait to make these again! =)

Sponge

Bolu Kukus

Stay tuned for my upcoming restaurants posts on Graze at Pyrmont and Lox Stock & Barrel at Bondi Beach…

Until next time

x

Jackie

3 Comments

Filed under Asian, Cake, Indonesian, Muffins, Recipes, Vegan, Western

3 responses to “JACKPOT’s baking experiments…

  1. I love the pairing (um, no pun intended!) of pear and chocolate. Adding almonds to the batter sounds even better! I usually dice my fruit fairly small when adding it to muffins, but I like the size of your pear pieces — much more noticeable and flavorful, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

